Home > Great Britain > A man’s home is his constitutional castle. – By Christopher Hitchens – Slate Magazine

A man’s home is his constitutional castle. – By Christopher Hitchens – Slate Magazine


Christopher Hirchens has written an ineteesting piece in regard to the recent wrongful arrest of Professor Gates.

Henry Louis Gates Jr. should have taken his stand on the Bill of Rights, not on his epidermis or that of the arresting officer.

By Christopher Hitchens Posted Monday, July 27, 2009, at 1:06 PM ET

There are the things you can try when confronted by a cop, and there are the things that you can’t—or had better not. Last Memorial Day, I was going in a taxi down to Washington, D.C.’s Vietnam Memorial when a police car cut across the traffic and slammed everything to a halt. Opening the window and asking what the problem was and how long it might last, I was screeched at by a stringy-haired, rat-faced blond beast, who acted as if she had been waiting all year for the chance to hurt someone. (She was wearing a uniform that I had helped pay for.) I often have a hard time keeping my trap shut, but I saw at once that this damaged creature was aching for trouble and that it would cost me days rather than hours if I supplied her with any back chat. (I think it was the mad way she yelled, “Because I can!” and “Because I say so!”) She was so avid with hatred that I didn’t even try to get close enough to ask or see her name or number. The whole thing, especially my own ignoble passivity, gnaws at me still when I reflect upon it. But it didn’t, if you understand me, reinforce any humiliating folk memory. Indeed, I had more or less forgotten it until recently…”

via A man’s home is his constitutional castle. – By Christopher Hitchens – Slate Magazine.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

