Home > Great Britain > PRESIDENT BARAK OBAMA’S SPEECH: “PICK YOURSELF UP…”

PRESIDENT BARAK OBAMA’S SPEECH: “PICK YOURSELF UP…”


bobamadp2

(IMAGE: DEMOCRATIC PARTY USA)

From President Barak Obama’s Inaugural speech: “MR. OBAMA: Starting today, we must pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and begin again the work of remaking America.”

The words are from the musical SWING TIME: 1936 by Jerome Kern were quoted in President Barak Obama’s inaugural speech, the lyrics to the song are republished below:

 (SOURCE; Page printed from: http://lyricsplayground.com/alpha/songs/p/pickyourselfup.shtml)

PICK YOURSELF UP From the Film: Swing Time 1936 (Lyrics by: Dorothy Fields / Music by: Jerome Kern) Fred Astaire & Ginger Rogers (He) Please teacher, teach me something, Nice teacher, teach me something. I'm as awkward as a camel, that's not the worst, My two feet haven't met yet, But I'll be teacher's pet yet, 'Cause I'm gonna learn to dance or burst. (She) Nothing's impossible I have found, For when my chin is on the ground, I pick myself up, Dust myself off, Start All over again. Don't lose your confidence if you slip, Be grateful for a pleasant trip, And pick yourself up, Dust yourself off, Start all over again. Work like a soul inspired, Till the battle of the day is won. You may be sick and tired, But you'll be a man, my son! Will you remember the famous men, Who had to fall to rise again? So take a deep breath, Pick yourself up, Dust yourself off, Start all over again. (He) I'll get some self assurance If your endurance is great. I'll learn by easy stages If you're courageous and wait. To feel the strength I want to, I must hang on to your hand, Maybe by the time I'm fifty I'll get up and do a nifty. (Both) Nothing's impossible I have found, For when my chin is on the ground, I pick myself up, Dust myself off, Start all over again. Don't lose your confidence if you slip, Be grateful for a pleasant trip, And pick yourself up, Dust yourself off, Start all over again. Work like a soul inspired, Till the battle of the day is won. You may be sick and tired, But you'll be a man, my son! Will you remember the famous men, Who had to fall to rise again? So take a deep breath, Pick yourself up, Dust yourself off, Start all over again.

See also PRESIDENT BARAK OBAMA’S INAUGURAL ADDRESS.

  1. January 21, 2009 at 18:22

    Once, a long time ago I took a trip to Brazil … luckly for me, during their world famous Caranaval festivities … and they have this all times favorite Carnaval melody that could roughly be translated as:

    “stand up, wipe off the dirt and get over with it
    a man of morals can’t live laying down on the ground”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

